Book Review: Touched by Elisa S. Amore



Touched
Touched Saga #1
Author: Elisa S. Amore
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Supernatural
Released: January 31, 2016
Review Source: Author

Based On A Norwegian Legend A Sealed Fate An Angel of Death A Forbidden Love

“As seductive as Meet Joe Black. As mysterious as City of Angels. As powerful as Twilight.”

What are you willing to sacrifice when the only person who can save you is the same one who has to kill you?

After vampires and werewolves, after wizards and fallen angels, a new breed of Angels is here to usher you into their dark world. An ancient, deadly, inescapable race. No one can see them. They’re shadows of destiny. They’re knights of death. They’re the Subterraneans and they’re here to claim our lives. Commanded by a mysterious congregation called the Màsala, the Angels of Death ensure that each man’s destiny takes its due course on Earth. But what happens when love intervenes? Can an Angel of Death deny his own nature and challenge destiny? Can love rebel against fate?

When Gemma’s eyes first meet the dark, piercing gaze of Evan James, an ominous shadow creeps into her life, ultimately leading her to face her destiny. She doesn't realize Evan is one of Death's soldiers and that Death is summoning her. Her time is up: Gemma must die . . . and Evan has been sent to kill her. But what if she’s the only one who can truly see him?

Against every rule. Against fate itself. Against everything and everyone. A story of forbidden love and star-crossed destinies.


I wanted to be touched by this story, but I was not.

I really truly wanted to like this book, the plot was interesting and drew me in fast. Its rare but it does happen when I find a book I cannot finish reading. I read through the reviews online and there are an overwhelming number of five star reviews but many I believe were misleading. If not, then maybe the book reads better in Spanish as many of these reviews must have come from back when the book was first released in 2012 in a different language. Having read to about 40% I wasn't interested in continuing, and that depressed me because I so wanted to love this book.

Of all the characters introduced, only Peter seemed like a realistic and believable character. He felt genuine, he had real reactions to the events and people around him and I felt for him as he pined after Gemma who was so clearly in the dark about his obvious feelings for her. Gemma herself clearly suffers from a Romantic Obsessive-Compulsive disorder, similar in many ways to Bella Swan from the Twilight Saga (think when Edward went MIA in book 2). It's scary to read page after page of how she describes her dark wild boy, repeated verbatim every page. The wild boy, is clearly an agent of death, if not simply an assassin reaper, which still sounds so cool, but he is only cool until he comes to kill and collect Gemma. Then he turns into the male version of her, just as obsessed and repetitive. Its kinda sad because for all that I did read the amount of time spent together was like maybe a whole whopping fifteen minutes combined. I put the book down, I'll still wish for a better version of such a great idea for a story.

#Miami Grab Passes to #MikeAndDaveNeedWeddingDates @ Cinemark Paradise 6/27




Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates 
Director: Jake Szymanski
Produced by: Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping, Jonathan Levine
Starring: Zac Efron, Anna Kendrick, Adam Devine, Aubrey Plaza, Stephen Root
MPAA Rating: Rated R for crude sexual content, language throughout, drug use and some graphic nudity
Official Socials: Site | FacebookTwitter | Instagram | IMDb
Hashtag: #MikeAndDaveNeedWeddingDates
Hard-partying brothers Mike (Adam Devine) and Dave (Zac Efron) place an online ad to find the perfect dates (Anna Kendrick, Aubrey Plaza) for their sister's Hawaiian wedding. Hoping for a wild getaway, the boys instead find themselves outsmarted and out-partied by the uncontrollable duo.



Click the movie poster to grab passes:


LOCATION:
Cinemark Paradise 24
15601 Sheridan St
Davie, FL 33331

TIME AND DATE:
June 27, 2016
Monday @7:30pm
(Have your passes ready to show at the door)

These tickets are on a first-come, first-served not guaranteed basis. Arrive early to secure your seats.

#Tampa Grab Passes to #MikeAndDaveNeedWeddingDates @ Regal Citrus Park 6/27




Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates 
Director: Jake Szymanski
Produced by: Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping, Jonathan Levine
Starring: Zac Efron, Anna Kendrick, Adam Devine, Aubrey Plaza, Stephen Root
MPAA Rating: Rated R for crude sexual content, language throughout, drug use and some graphic nudity
Official Socials: Site | FacebookTwitter | Instagram | IMDb
Hashtag: #MikeAndDaveNeedWeddingDates
Hard-partying brothers Mike (Adam Devine) and Dave (Zac Efron) place an online ad to find the perfect dates (Anna Kendrick, Aubrey Plaza) for their sister's Hawaiian wedding. Hoping for a wild getaway, the boys instead find themselves outsmarted and out-partied by the uncontrollable duo.



Click the movie poster to grab passes:


LOCATION:
Regal Citrus Park 20
7999 Citrus Park Town
Center Mall
Tampa, FL 33781

TIME AND DATE:
June 27, 2016
Monday @7:30pm
(Have your passes ready to show at the door)

These tickets are on a first-come, first-served not guaranteed basis. Arrive early to secure your seats.

#Orlando Grab Passes to #MikeAndDaveNeedWeddingDates @ Premiere Cinema 6/27




Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates 
Director: Jake Szymanski
Produced by: Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping, Jonathan Levine
Starring: Zac Efron, Anna Kendrick, Adam Devine, Aubrey Plaza, Stephen Root
MPAA Rating: Rated R for crude sexual content, language throughout, drug use and some graphic nudity
Official Socials: Site | FacebookTwitter | Instagram | IMDb
Hashtag: #MikeAndDaveNeedWeddingDates
Hard-partying brothers Mike (Adam Devine) and Dave (Zac Efron) place an online ad to find the perfect dates (Anna Kendrick, Aubrey Plaza) for their sister's Hawaiian wedding. Hoping for a wild getaway, the boys instead find themselves outsmarted and out-partied by the uncontrollable duo.



Click the movie poster to grab passes:


LOCATION:
Premiere Cinema 14 at Fashion Square Mall
3201 E. Colonial Dr.
Orlando, FL

TIME AND DATE:
June 27, 2016
Monday @7:30pm
(Have your passes ready to show at the door)

These tickets are on a first-come, first-served not guaranteed basis. Arrive early to secure your seats.

#Denver Win Passes to #ThePurge 6/28



The Purge: Election Year
Director: James DeMonaco
Writers: James DeMonaco
Starring: Frank Grillo, Elizabeth Mitchell, Mykelti Williamson
MPAA Rating:  Rated R for disturbing bloody violence and strong language
Official Socials: SiteFacebookTwitter | InstagramIMDb
Hashtag: #ThePurge
Two years after choosing not to kill the man who killed his son, former police sergeant Barnes has become head of security for Senator Charlene Roan, the front runner in the next Presidential election due to her vow to eliminate the Purge.


Do you want to see THE PURGE: ELECTION YEAR before it hits theaters? Click the poster below for your chance to win a pass for you and a friend to check out an advance screening on Tuesday, June 28 in Denver! Seats in the theater are first-come, first-serve so PLEASE ARRIVE EARLY! In theaters everywhere July 1! www.thepurgeelectionyear.com



LOCATION:
Denver, CO

TIME AND DATE:
6/28/2016
07:00 PM
(Have your passes ready to show at the door)

These tickets are on a first-come, first-served not guaranteed basis. Arrive early to secure your seats.

#SaltLakeCity Win Passes to #ThePurge 6/28



The Purge: Election Year
Director: James DeMonaco
Writers: James DeMonaco
Starring: Frank Grillo, Elizabeth Mitchell, Mykelti Williamson
MPAA Rating:  Rated R for disturbing bloody violence and strong language
Official Socials: SiteFacebookTwitter | InstagramIMDb
Hashtag: #ThePurge
Two years after choosing not to kill the man who killed his son, former police sergeant Barnes has become head of security for Senator Charlene Roan, the front runner in the next Presidential election due to her vow to eliminate the Purge.


Do you want to see THE PURGE: ELECTION YEAR before it hits theaters? Click the poster below for your chance to win a pass for you and a friend to check out an advance screening on Tuesday, June 28 in Salt Lake City! Seats in the theater are first-come, first-serve so PLEASE ARRIVE EARLY! In theaters everywhere July 1! www.thepurgeelectionyear.com



LOCATION:
Salt Lake City, UT

TIME AND DATE:
6/28/2016
07:00 PM
(Have your passes ready to show at the door)

These tickets are on a first-come, first-served not guaranteed basis. Arrive early to secure your seats.

Book Review: Summer in the Invisible City by Juliana Romano



Summer in the Invisible City
Author: Juliana Romano
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary
Released: June 21 2016
Review Source: Dial Books

A sparkling coming-of-age story about self-discovery, first love, and the true meaning of family, perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen.

Seventeen-year-old Sadie Bell has this summer all figured out: She’s going to befriend the cool girls at her school. She’s going to bond with her absentee father, a famous artist, and impress him with her photography skills. And she’s finally going to get over Noah, the swoony older guy who was her very first mistake.

Sadie wasn’t counting on meeting Sam, a funny and free-thinking boy who makes her question all of her goals. But even after a summer of talking, touching, and sharing secrets, Sam says he just wants to be friends. And when those Sadie cares about most hurt her, Sam’s friendship may not be enough. Sadie can see the world through her camera, but can she see the people who have loved and supported her all along?

Set against a glamorous New York City backdrop, this coming-of-age romance is a gorgeous summer read—one whose characters will stay with you long into the fall.

Sadie has had a rough past recently. Wanting to find her dad and dealing with what happened with Noah. So when Sam comes into her life she isn't prepared for it. Which is usually when the best things happen. She then becomes close with Sam, someone who wants to be a friend, yet Sadie has tunnel vision.

Juliana Romano is one of my favorite authors. I read her debut novel First There Was Forever (Which if you haven't read you should go do that...and then get this book and read it too) and I was hooked on that story. When I saw that she had written another book I was ecstatic and knew I had to get my hands on it.

I wasn't disappointed. It was such a quick read and Sadie was a character that you just wanted to take out of the book and give a big hug to. She has been through such a rough couple of trials in life, some that we all have faced, and in that she becomes relatable and lovable. While there are times it's frustrating, Romano writes it in such a way that you understand. You're frustrated with Sadie but you get why she's doing what it is that she does.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique