Book Review: Twisted Fate by Norah Olson





   Twisted Fate
      Author: Norah Olson
      Reading Level: Young Adult
      Genre: Contemporary
      Released: January 20, 2015
      Review Source: Katherine Tegen Books
  
When Alyson meets Graham Copeland, the new boy next door, she instantly feels like he’s a kindred spirit—shy and awkward like her, someone who has trouble making friends. It’s impossible to resist having a crush on him.

As usual, her sister, Sydney, sees things differently. In Sydney's mind, Graham's odd personality and secretive past scream psychopath, not sweetheart. Her gut is telling her to stay away from him, and to protect a love-struck Alyson from her own naïveté. But despite her instincts, Sydney is surprised to realize that a part of her is drawn to Graham, too.

And the more Sydney gets to know him, the more she realizes just how right—and wrong—she is about everything.

Perfect for fans of Michelle Hodkin, and E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars, Twisted Fate is an unputdownable novel, teeming with suspense.


I did the one thing I should never do as a book blogger...read the reviews before I read the book. That's a big no-no. I wasn't sure if I was going to like it from the mixed reviews on Goodreads. So, needless to say, I was already mixed about the book going into it.

First of all, I have to say that this book had my guessing the entire time. Some reviewers had said that they figured out the plot twist early on and that the clues were everywhere...so then I felt like an idiot because I couldn't figure it out. The characters were complex and I just couldn't get my head around what was going on. There were multiple viewpoints too, so that made it harder. I really liked the characters and think that Olson did a good job in weaving their stories together. I also felt that for being teenagagers, there wern't a lot of scenes where they were home. There's no way my parents would let me stay away for that long. Graham was probably my favorite character. He was a little creepy, but it gave the story a little edge.

I gave it a Three Tree Review because there were times where I was so confused, that it was hard to read. The ending was great, but by the time I got there, I was a little over the story. I think there were a little too many point of views going on and it became a little much.

I also LOVE the cover. The twisted hands are perfect. I think the colors mesh well too.

Overall, I think it's a great read and I would recommend it to those who like mystery with a little thriller added in for good measure.



3 comments:

  1. Great review! Thanks for sharing! I hope to see your smiling face around my blog

    Katelynn
    www.literarychameleon.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds really good! I will probably get it from the library. I have that problem too with reading reviews first. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I rarely read a book straight through, so those with too many perspectives get me confused when I come back to it. Doesn't sound like this book is for me. And like you, I shouldn't go by the reviews, but STILL!
    Dede

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique