Blog Tour: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi | Guest Post | Giveaway



Welcome to our stop on The Night We Said Yes tour for Lauren Gibaldi. This tour is hosted by The Fantastic Flying Book Club Tours.

The Night We Said Yes
Author: Lauren Gibaldi
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary
Released: June 16th 2015
Publisher: Harper Teen

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

5 Most Randomly Spontaneous Things You've Ever Done 

I'm a planner. Though it might not seem like it from the topic of my book, I'm not big on spontaneity. I LOVE it, of course, I just can never THINK of something to randomly do. I'm not that adventurous, I guess. 

Some of my friends are, though, which makes everything awesome. 

On that note, here are five of the most random/spontaneous things I've ever done:

1. One night while in college, four of my friends and I ran from our dorm across campus. There we jumped fully-clothed into the school's fountain, and then ran back. I should note that It was 14 degrees out. I do not suggest doing this. 

2. Also in college, one day while bored, my friend and I got our ear cartilage pierced.  We did it together, before graduating, as a friendship thing (like a friendship bracelet, but a bit more permanent...and painful). The earring grew toxic over time, but the friendship never did. (Hi Lin!)

3. When getting married, I planned everything out really well. I researched every detail, analyzed every thought. But when it came to the location, I said yes without any second thought, without any doubt, without even questioning it. I just knew it was right the moment I saw it, and thankfully, so did my husband. If you're wondering, we were married at a science center, and a giant T-Rex loomed over the reception. Who wouldn't want a T-Rex watching them dance and eat? Exactly. It was amazing. 

4. After college, I had a bit of a bad breakup. I was upset and frustrated and wanted to do something to clear my mind. So when my cousin called and told me to visit her in NY, I did. I booked a flight while talking to her on the phone and left a few weeks later. It was an amazingly therapeutic and fun trip. 

5. In TNWSY, Ella and friends break into their high school and climb up on the roof. When I was in high school, I did actually do that, sort of. I was at school late for theatre rehearsal, and my friends and I were bored. We weren't in the current scene, so we decided to walk around the dark campus. And that's when we got the idea. Unlike the book, it was a lot easier to do, and we didn't stay and hang out. We kind of just did it, cheered, then went back to rehearsal. We weren't big rebels. (Again, I do not suggest doing this.)

And those are my stories! I never did say "yes" to an entire night of ideas, like the characters in my book, but it does sound fun. Maybe we all should have a night of saying yes. Maybe we should all do something story-worthy, every now and then. 

Public librarian and author of THE NIGHT WE SAID YES (HarperCollins / HarperTeen, June 16, 2015) and MATT'S STORY (a The Night We Said Yes Novella, out August 2015). Fan of dinosaurs and cheesy jokes. And you.

2 comments:

  1. Ooh, I love this giveaway! I have wanted to read this book for such a long time! Thanks for the chance <3

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm really excited to see what happens in this book, and I cannot wait for its release!

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique