Quick-fire Book Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
Author: Stephanie Oakes
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary
Released: June 9th 2015
Review Source: Dial


With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.

And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.

When I first saw the cover of this book at ALA, I wasn’t sure if this book would be ideal for me. I love pretty covers, and well this one doesn’t really stand out. However, after speaking to a publicist she actually recommended me to read this book. So why not? Right? And I was glad I did!

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is not really an action novel. It is more of a mystery book - as in why strange things occurred to Minnow. Also, the Kevinian cult.

While reading the book, the story actually reminded me of this NCIS episode. In which a girl was raised to loved a man whom claimed to be chosen from a god to lead her and many to the light. This man actually just took advantages multiple young girls and had babies with them. This just gives you an idea of what the book is about. However, Minnow was a bright young lady and she didn’t go down without a fight. It was indeed a very interesting story to read and it was well-written.

There is romance, however, with what Minnow has been through I actually respected her decisions. Sometimes life isn’t as pretty as we hope it would be. We have to make sacrifices and hope for the best.

Something I Loved:
I loved Minnow. She is a strong person. A person that has been through so many tough situations. I really admired her as an individual. Her hope and wanting more from life is something someone in her stage wouldn’t even think about.

Favorite Quote:
“Jude taught me what love was: to be willing to hold on to another person's pain. That's it.”

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique