Book Review: The Girl From the Sea by Shalini Boland


The Girl From The Sea
Author: Shalini Boland
Reading Level: Adult Fiction
Genres: Psychological Thriller
Released: June 9th 2016
Review Source: NetGalley

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

A chilling suspense story of wounded hearts and dark secrets.

Washed up on the beach, she can’t remember who she is. She can’t even remember her name. Turns out, she has a perfect life – friends and family eager to fill in the blanks. But why are they lying to her? What don’t they want her to remember?

When you don't even know who you are, how do you know who to trust?

First I would like to mention how much I love this book cover. That cover was the reason, I actually wanted to know more about what it contained inside its pages. Isn't it amazing? Kuddos to the person/team behind the cover. 

Now on to the story, Boland did a fantastic job with this novel. I was so sure I knew where the story was going and how it would end, then Boom! She completely went someplace else with it. I never guessed the outcome she wrote. Total shocker that ending was. That's how you write a book, keep the reader in suspense the whole time. Without a doubt this book is going to be a nail-bitter when you read it. 

Can you imagine waking up and not knowing anything, not even your face. That must feel horrible. You follow along Mia's journey after she is found and doesn't remember anything after waking up. She was found on the beach with a bump on her head and completely memory loss. The boyfriend comes forward and is able to identify her, but she doesn't remember him or anyone for that matter. The police feel it's OK to let her leave in the boyfriend's care and hope that Mia begins to regain her memories to determine what happen to her. This is where things begin to take fold. Anything else I write would spoil the story. 

Little by little she begins to seek out people or places that might trigger some type of memory, but it's not really working out how she planned. She does begin to have some type of nightmare, which freaks her out because it feels too real. I would be freaking out myself, if you start picturing a ghostly women coming at you that looks angry. I might never go back to sleep again. 

The Girl From The Sea is a book to read, join Mia in discovering herself again. Will Mia go back to the person she was before the accident? Or will she begin a whole new life different from what she has been described? And who will she keep by her side this time? Pick up a copy today! 


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique