Blog Tour: Breaking the Ice by Julie Cross | Review


Welcome to our stop on tour for Breaking the Ice by Julie Cross
This tour is hosted by Chapter by Chapter.


Breaking the Ice
Juniper Falls #2
Author: Julie Cross
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary
Released: December 26, 2017
Review Source: Chapter by Chapter



The second book in the Juniper Falls series from NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Julie Cross, perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally and Abbi Glines. Haley Stevenson seems like she’s got it all together: cheer captain, “Princess” of Juniper Falls, and voted Most Likely to Get Things Done. But below the surface, she’s struggling with a less-than-stellar GPA and still reeling from the loss of her first love. Repeating her Civics class during summer school is her chance to Get Things Done, not angst over boys. In fact, she’s sworn them off completely until college. Fletcher Scott is happy to keep a low profile around Juniper Falls. He’s always been the invisible guy, warming the bench on the hockey team and moonlighting at a job that would make his grandma blush. Suddenly, though, he’s finding he wants more: more time on the ice, and more time with his infuriatingly perfect summer-school study partner. But leave it to a girl who requires perfection to shake up a boy who’s ready to break all the rules.

 

Hi my name is Bianca and I am a sucker for cute contemporaries and boys with cute names.

Although Breaking the Ice is the #2 installment in the Juniper Falls series, it can be read as a stand alone. It's completely out of my OCD nature to enter a series this way, and to be honest I don't know why I did- but what matters is that I did. It was such a good start to have this be my first read of the New Year. Nothing too complicated. Although we can argue about Fletcher being complicated.

That was the base of Breaking the Ice. Fletcher and his mysteriousness. All he wanted was to take Civics in summer school for extra credit so he could focus on having ice time during hockey games. But, his seat selection changed his world. He sits behind Haley Stevenson, Princess/ Cheer captain.

Fletcher TOTALLY intrigues Haley and immediately she wants to know more about him. So they end up as study partners and before you know it each of their focuses or goals have changed. And, although on the outside these two characters seem as simple as it gets- high school cheer captain who cares only about cheer and invisible guy who cares about nothing, Julie Cross comes through with making them very realistic.

Listen, I stayed up till close to 4am because I couldn't stop reading. If that doesn't tell you how much I liked this book I don't know what can. (P.S. I'm a tired person with a 1 year old human to chase after everyday. I love sleep.)

And now I'm going to go back and pick up the first book in this series also...







About Julie Cross

Julie Cross is a NYT and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, Timestorm (St. Martin’s Press).
She’s also the author of Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, and many more to come!
Julie lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former Gymnastics Program Director with the YMCA.
She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and new adult genres.
Outside of her reading and writing credibility’s, Julie Cross is a committed–but not talented–long distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.
       





No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique