Book Review: Unleashed by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited #2
Author: Sophie Jordan
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Science Fiction
Released: February 24 2015
Review Source: HarperTeen

Unleashed, the romantic, high-stakes sequel to New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's Uninvited, is perfect for fans of James Patterson's Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

Davy has spent the last few months trying to come to terms with the fact that she tested positive for the kill gene HTS (also known as Homicidal Tendency Syndrome). She swore she would not let it change her, and that her DNA did not define her . . . but then she killed a man.

Now on the run, Davy must decide whether she'll be ruled by the kill gene or if she'll follow her heart and fight for her right to live free. But with her own potential for violence lying right beneath the surface, Davy doesn't even know if she can trust herself.

This book sounded so intriguing to me - teenagers with Homicidal Tendency Syndrome that are trying to figure out if they're really as violent as this syndrome deems them to be. But as I read this book I realized that it just was not for me --I think I'm more of a fantasy reader, and if it doesn't have some element of fantasy then I'm not hooked. And while this had all the other elements of a book that I do like, romance and drama, I just needed something more.

I feel like I was not able to connect to any of the characters, I felt as if they were very distant from me, the reader. Which I have rarely felt in books, but with this one I think that readers need a more intimate relationship with Davy to actually be able to connect on a level with her. It's not like we understand what it's like to have HTS so I would've liked to have felt like I did-rather than like I was observing it. 


  1. Ah bummer! Hearing some not so happy things about this one! Hoping ti will work out differently when I read it because I really liked the first one. I'm like you though, normally I need something paranormal in the story to grab my attention, but something with the HTS virus/gene, just kind of sucked me in with the first book. Nice honest review though. :)

    1. Yes give it a go, Yara on the team loves this series.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique