Blog Tour: Finding Paris by Joy Preble + Giveaway

Welcome to our stop on the Finding Paris tour for Joy Preble. This tour is hosted by Jean Book Nerd.

Finding Paris
Author: Joy Preble
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary
Released: April 21, 2015
Review Source: Balzer & Bray | Harper Teen

An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other--perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble's stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into each other's lives.

Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can't trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who's moved them all to Las Vegas. It's just the two of them: Paris, who's always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind--going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love. But Leo isn't going anywhere right now, except driving around Vegas all night with her sister.

Until Paris ditches Leo at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris--a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared? When Leo reluctantly accepts Max's offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold inside.

Finding Paris is one of those books in which the characters are what make the book. I loved Leo. I love that her name is something unconventional, like Leo. I love how she handled everything. I just really loved her as a character! Paris, on the other hand, whose actions I did not like, was a complex character. But, you end up understanding why she did what she did. Max, the boy who Paris leaves Leo with, is sweet in most ways and he slowly won me over.

Basically, Finding Paris is a wild goose chase. Leo and Max follow clues all over Vegas (and elsewhere) in search of Paris. Although the main goal is to find Paris, Leo and Max find themselves discovering truths within themselves, and I think that is why I loved this book so much. I am a sucker for "discover thy self" books. Finding Paris was beautiful, and it is why I can't dislike Paris, and why I love Leo so much.

I am a sucker for books that challenge me. Finding Paris did EXACTLY that. You can't figure out the ending without all of the clues, so it's a nice change in that the ending is totally not expected. Joy Preble did a brilliant job at keeping me at the edge of my seat, or holding my breath. Definitely pick up a copy and immerse yourself into this beautiful story.

Joy Preble is a Texas girl who was born and raised in Chicago and a former high school teacher who now writes full time, which means she gets paid for making up stuff. She earned an English degree from Northwestern University and speaks and teaches widely on writing and literacy at libraries and schools, as well as SCBWI, NCTE, AWP, and other conferences.

Joy is the author of THE SWEET DEAD LIFE and its sequel, THE A WORD (May 2014), both from Soho Press. Kirkus hailed THE SWEET DEAD LIFE with "Hallelujah! A paranormal tale of angels…that breaks the mold."

She is also the author of the DREAMING ANASTASIA series (Sourcebooks) that combines paranormal romance with Russian folklore. DREAMING ANASTASIA was nominated for a Cybil Award in the Teen Sci-Fi/Fantasy Category in 2009. It was named an ABC Best Book for Children, Teen Category in 2009, and was featured in Justine Magazine.

Joy also has a contemporary mystery/romance on the way: FINDING PARIS will be out April 21, 2015 from Balzer and Bray/Harper Collins. Another paranormal mystery/romance, IT WASN'T ALWAYS LIKE THIS, pitched as Tuck Everlasting meets Veronica Mars, arrives from Soho Press in Spring 2016.

In no particular order, Joy loves guacamole, pizza, banana bread, red wine, books, boots of all shapes and sizes, TV, movies, and crazy road trips so she can see the world. She is also fond her family and her dog, in case you were wondering.


Giveaway is open to International. | Must be 13+ to Enter

1. A signed set of DREAMING ANASTASIA trilogy. (domestic US only)
2. A $10 Starbucks gift card.
3. An exclusive FINDING PARIS necklace.
4. A signed set of THE SWEET DEAD LIFE series. (domestic US only)
4. Signed bookmarks and postcards.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. Nice review. Been curious about this one so it's good to see when someone enjoyed it.

  2. this is cool! thanks for the giveaway! :)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique