Book Review: Fans Of The Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa

Fans Of The Impossible Life
Author: Kate Scelsa
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary
Released: September 8 2015
Review Source: Balzer + Bray

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can’t get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she’s with Sebby.

Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who’s been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it’s as if he’s been expecting this blond, lanky boy with mischief glinting in his eye.

Sebby, Mira’s gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.

As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira’s world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don’t understand their quest to live for the impossible.

Three kids dealing with life and their own problems in life but are able to come together and form a bond. Dealing with shyness, a foster home and starting a whole life over Jeremy, Sebby and Mira are the perfect group of misfits.

While this story was at times adorable I was not as drawn into it as I thought I might be. Goodreads told me that since I loved Cut Both Ways I would love Fans Of The Impossible Life. And that just was not the case for me. There are times when I love the 2 different POV's in stories. This book is first person when being told by Jeremy. But when told from Mira's POV it's in third person. I tend to enjoy this, but for this story I feel that it took me out of things. Mira's POV was one that should've been told in first person as well, I think, and with it being told in third person I felt drawn out of the story. And when it would go back to Jeremy it took a while to get drawn back in. And sometimes Jeremy's chapters were short so I wasn't able to get completely drawn back in.

The relationship that forms between these three misfits is inspirational and makes you realize that you can really do anything if you put your mind to it. Especially if you have the right support system. Sure they have their own problems and it sometimes comes into their relationships, but they make it work.


  1. It sounds like it has a nice story but the quick changes of POVs weren't executed well. I'd still like to try it though but it's not really something I'd like to add to my tbr list right now. Definitely soon. Thanks for the honest review :)

    czai @ the Blacksheep Project

  2. I'm still on the fence about this one, but lovely review!

  3. Ah it sounds like the point of view changes and choice of third person is what distanced you from the novel. Sorry to hear about it kind of ruining things :/


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique