Book Review: All We Left Behind by Ingrid Sundberg



All We Left Behind
Author: Ingrid Sundberg
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary
Released: December 1st 2015
Review Source: Simon Pulse

  

For fans of Simone Elkeles and Courtney Summers, this haunting debut novel is about two teenagers battling their inner demons as they fall in love for the first time.

When Marion Taylor, the shy bookworm, meets sexy soccer captain Kurt Medford at a party, what seems like a sure thing quickly turns into a total mess. One moment they’re alone in the middle of a lake, igniting sparks of electricity. The next, they’re on dry land, pretending they’ve never met. But rather than the end, that night is the beginning of something real, terrifying, and completely unforgettable for them both.

As Marion and Kurt struggle to build a relationship from the fractured pieces of their pasts, every kiss they share uncovers memories both would rather keep buried. Marion desperately wants to trust Kurt and share the one secret she’s never told anyone—but some truths aren’t meant to be spoken out loud. Kurt is also still haunted by his mother’s death, by the people he hurt, and by the mistakes he can never take back.

Explosive together and hollow apart, Marion and Kurt seem totally wrong for each other—but could they turn out to be more right than they ever thought possible?

Where to begin?

What you need to know is this book is it contains dark topics.

Two individuals suffering. One is a raped victim trying to keep this a secret and the other one is abuse by his father. Although, this book deals with sensitive topics, the story is a bit dull. There is no connection between the main characters. They are both living a messed up life. Yes, we get to read about their daily life. However, the story is very odd and there is no connection between the reader and the characters.

When it comes to dark subjects, I’m usually overwhelmed by emotions. I either cry like a baby or feel terribly sad about them.  Also, normally, I am hooked into this type of stories. I want to find out what is going on, what will happen and how the characters will end up. With All We Left Behind that is something that I did not experience. I guess part of this is the fact it is very unrealistic? Maybe? Or maybe it was the drama? This book is filled with drama! SO. MANY. DRAMA.

All We Left Behind was an okay read. There were no tears shed, no crazy twist, no chemistry… Yet there were some moments, I respected Marion. Being a victim must not be easy and the way she wanted to stay strong… Kudos, girl. You can do it. Also, I loved how she was very nerdy. She's completely different from her party animal friend. Marion had her own self respect and did not let her friend’s judgment lead her to do things she did not want to do. Which I really admire her for this.

It’s a complicated story about two complicated teenagers trying to live life.



No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique