Book News: Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller to write YA book series, OTHERWORLD



JASON SEGEL AND KIRSTEN MILLER TO PUBLISH A SECOND BOOK SERIES WITH DELACORTE PRESS, FOLLOWING THEIR NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING MIDDLE-GRADE NIGHTMARES! TRILOGY

Otherworld, a young adult trilogy, to be co-authored with Kirsten Miller and published beginning in 2018!

Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, has acquired and will publish a young adult series by actor, author, and multitalented creative artist Jason Segel and New York Times bestselling author Kirsten Miller. Segel made his publishing debut in 2014 with the bestselling middle-grade trilogy Nightmares!, also co-authored with Miller. The three-book YA deal was announced today by Beverly Horowitz, Vice President, Publisher, Delacorte Press. The series will be edited by Krista Marino, Executive Editor, Delacorte Press.

Jason Segel is an actor and writer, last seen in James Ponsoldt’s The End of the Tour, starring as David Foster Wallace opposite Jesse Eisenberg. Segel wrote and landed his first major leading role in Forgetting Sarah Marshall. He also wrote Disney’s The Muppets, which won an Academy Award in 2012 for Best Original Song. Segel has starred in such films as Knocked Up; I Love You, Man; Jeff Who Lives at Home; and The Five-Year Engagement; among others. On television, Segel starred as Marshall on the hit comedy series How I Met Your Mother for nine seasons, and starred in Judd Apatow’s Emmy-nominated Freaks and Geeks.

Segel and Miller will team up again for OTHERWORLD, an epic young adult trilogy for readers of James Dashner and Lev Grossman. In OTHERWORLD, awkward teenage gamer Simon is given the opportunity to be the first to test the newest set of virtual reality goggles before they hit the market. When his friend Katherine disappears, however, it’s no longer a game. Katherine’s been kidnapped by someone or something inside the virtual world, and saving her is up to Simon. OTHERWORLD is a heart-stopping quest through a Tolkienesque virtual reality world. The future is here. The future is OTHERWORLD.

Says Segel, “Connecting with the readers of the Nightmares! series at events has been a truly special experience for me, and I am incredibly excited to have the opportunity to keep writing stories for these readers, and to grow with them into young adult with OTHERWORLD.”

“We were thrilled when Jason shared with us how much he was inspired by his readers and that he had a new series idea. We knew that OTHERWORLD would be the perfect next project,” says Horowitz. “Jason and Kirsten are each amazingly talented on their own, and spectacular as a team. I am so pleased to continue to work with this bestselling duo and to bring their next series to teen readers,” added Marino.
The deal for North American rights to the trilogy was negotiated by Horowitz, with WME, Abrams Entertainment, and Sloane Offer Weber & Dern LLP on behalf of Segel. Terms of the agreement were not disclosed.

Segel and Miller’s bestselling Nightmares! series is an adventure story about a group of kids who realize it’s up to them to save their town from fear, which has manifested itself in the form of nightmare creatures that have slipped into the everyday world. At its heart, Nightmares! is about kids overcoming their fears. Book two, Nightmares! The Sleepwalker Tonic, released this fall, on September 8, 2015, and the final book in the series, Nightmares! The Lost Lullaby, will be published on September 13, 2016.


Kirsten Miller is the author of the acclaimed Kiki Strike trilogy, as well as the New York Times bestselling The Eternal Ones.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique