Audiobook Review: The Last Star by Rick Yancey



The Last Star
The 5th Wave #3
Author: Rick Yancey
Narrator: Phoebe Strole, Ben Yannette
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Dystopia
Released: May 24th 2016
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young | Penguin Random House Audio | Living Language ReadingTeen

The Last Star is the heart-stopping finale to the bestselling 5th Wave series by award-winning author, Rick Yancey. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and The Maze Runner.

'Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough' The New York Times

We’re here, then we’re gone, and that was true before they came. That’s always been true. The Others didn’t invent death; they just perfected it. Gave death a face to put back in our face, because they knew that was the only way to crush us. It won’t end on any continent or ocean, no mountain or plain, jungle or desert. It will end where it began, where it had been from the beginning, on the battlefield of the last beating human heart.

Master storyteller Rick Yancey invokes triumph, loss, and unrelenting action as the fate of the planet is decided in the conclusion to this epic series.

The lovely Andye did it again. She provided me a book I'm very exciting dying to read. And though I had fear for this conclusion, I surprisingly enjoyed it more than the sequel. Of course, I wasn't too thrilled with it (the sequel) but this conclusion made up for it.
"Let no one despair, even though in the darkest night the last star of hope may disappear".

Life goes on. You get sick, you get better, but life goes on. This is not what happens in this series. Everyone must die and if you survive, the Others will get rid of you. That is the mission and it must be done. Whether they, themselves, kill humanity or have human kill themselves. It must be done at the end. There is no other ending.

Not to give any spoilers, because I would literally go mad if someone spoiled me, but this book left me speechless. From the very first words, I should've been prepared. Rick gives you clues and if you put them together then you should know the outcome. Regardless, if you put these clues together or not, the ending is still devastating. Just remember this is not a love story, not that kind of romance type of book. No, this is a battlefield story and in a war there must be sacrifices. Whether you like it or not.

Now, since I won't be giving out spoilers, I will tell you Rick will answers your questions in The Last Star. Yes, you will learn more about Ringer. You will still cheer for her and her bravery. She will lie, oh the lies, but she will be her best. She will fall thousand of feet, she will fight, she will be used as a weapon, she will surrender, she will endured and she will get her revenge. Cheers to you, my brave friend.

"You're the thing worth dying". Oh Evan, why most you make us swoon? Stop with your cuteness. Stop smiling, stop making us fall in love with you. So many sweet moments from the very beginning of this book. From the whole "it's your fault Sam is dirty" to doing everything in your power to help humanity. Between Evan and Cassie, these two will make you swoon but also laugh.

As for Cassie... She's more sarcastic, protective and braver than ever. I loved her and I loved her cleverness. She is humanity and she's proud. In the mist of darkness her hope lit up the world. She is the last star, she is humanity and she's willing to do everything to keep Sam safe. She's an amazing role model and I applause her for her courage.

Although the ending left me shocked, I somehow expected this to happen. It makes sense in this story... Even though, I was worried it would end this way, once I read it, I was at ease. It was easy (still heartbreaking) to accept it because again, it makes sense. As I mentioned before, this is not a romance story but a war. A war to fight for humanity and survival. A story of hope and sacrifices.

Overall, I loved the audiobook. It was so easy to follow these characters and the story. I enjoyed how these narrators mimic some characteristics of each the characters, specially Cassie. I pictured Chloe reading this to me, as she was great as Cassie. The way they narrated this story was done so SO well. Their voices are not the types you tune out but the opposite. You pay attention to every word they read. I feel like I need to listen to the first book as an audiobook, because it was that good.

As for the story itself... Gosh, I'm still trying to process everything! So many things to think about and the hope it brings... The ending may be sad but realistic. When one sees a love one suffer, one will do the unimaginable and will sacrifice everything to ensure the other person's happiness.
"Forgiveness is born out of love".

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique