Book Review: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton



Baby Doll
Author: Hollie Overton
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Thriller
Released: July 12 2016
Review Source: Redhook

For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, Baby Doll is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.

This is what happens next...

...to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter...and to her captor.


Baby Doll - that's what he called her. That's what he made her. When Lily is captured and held captive it takes 8 years for her to finally be able to escape. Once free from her captor she must adjust to the life that she once had, but with the changes that happened within the 8 years of her disappearance. There's also the chance that Mr. Hanson still has his grip on her.

There's so much I want to say - yet so many words that I don't have to describe this book. I loved this story. It grips you from the moment you pick it up. It reminded me of Room, the film that just came out recently. So I was a little worried that I was just reading a book that was based after this movie. But then the Gone Girl twists started coming within the story.

You follow 4 different characters within this story. The twins: Lily and Abby. Their mother Eve. And Lily's captor Rick. Within each character's chapter you gain insight into who they are, how the events of the book affected them, and you see/hope for where their future is going to take them.

I'm still a little iffy on the ending of the book. It ended perfectly - it ended exactly how this story should've. But I almost wanted it to be a little bit more dark and twisty than what was given. Without giving anything away I'll just say there is one thought that Lily has about halfway through the book and I had hoped that we would see her obsess over the thought/plan that had formed. But she righted her thoughts, and ended up being where she was suppose to be. But I morbidly wanted a darker and more twisty Lily than I got.

It was also tough because when you are introduced to Wes - Lily's first true love - you feel as if he's meant to be with Lily. But his path clearly keeps him astray from her, which almost breaks your heart. But the path he's on is one that you also want for him, even if that means not being with Lily. And for me that caused enough turmoil with my emotions that I was always on the edge of my seat.

Everyone needs to read this. It's a quick read, and it will have you hooked from the start.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique