Book Review: Summer in the Invisible City by Juliana Romano



Summer in the Invisible City
Author: Juliana Romano
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary
Released: June 21 2016
Review Source: Dial Books

A sparkling coming-of-age story about self-discovery, first love, and the true meaning of family, perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen.

Seventeen-year-old Sadie Bell has this summer all figured out: She’s going to befriend the cool girls at her school. She’s going to bond with her absentee father, a famous artist, and impress him with her photography skills. And she’s finally going to get over Noah, the swoony older guy who was her very first mistake.

Sadie wasn’t counting on meeting Sam, a funny and free-thinking boy who makes her question all of her goals. But even after a summer of talking, touching, and sharing secrets, Sam says he just wants to be friends. And when those Sadie cares about most hurt her, Sam’s friendship may not be enough. Sadie can see the world through her camera, but can she see the people who have loved and supported her all along?

Set against a glamorous New York City backdrop, this coming-of-age romance is a gorgeous summer read—one whose characters will stay with you long into the fall.

Sadie has had a rough past recently. Wanting to find her dad and dealing with what happened with Noah. So when Sam comes into her life she isn't prepared for it. Which is usually when the best things happen. She then becomes close with Sam, someone who wants to be a friend, yet Sadie has tunnel vision.

Juliana Romano is one of my favorite authors. I read her debut novel First There Was Forever (Which if you haven't read you should go do that...and then get this book and read it too) and I was hooked on that story. When I saw that she had written another book I was ecstatic and knew I had to get my hands on it.

I wasn't disappointed. It was such a quick read and Sadie was a character that you just wanted to take out of the book and give a big hug to. She has been through such a rough couple of trials in life, some that we all have faced, and in that she becomes relatable and lovable. While there are times it's frustrating, Romano writes it in such a way that you understand. You're frustrated with Sadie but you get why she's doing what it is that she does.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique