Book Review: I See You by Molly McAdams



I See You
Author: Molly McAdams
Reading Level: New Adult
Genre: Contemporary
Released: November 1 2016
Review Source: William Morrows Paperback

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Molly McAdams’ powerful new novel offers one of the most memorable love triangles in fiction since Twilight—perfect for fans of New Adult fiction like Jamie McGuire, Abbi Glines, and Tamarra Webber.

Futures are uncertain, unpredictable—like ink spilled across the purest surface. Nearly imperceptible ripples move and flow until a unique stain is formed. The ink is permanently imbedded in the surface…

During one wild night in college, Jentry Michaels is a tidal wave of ink that brands Aurora Wilde’s soul. An unparalleled stain she can’t forget despite the many months that have passed—and despite the distraction she’d hoped she would find in her new relationship with Declan, the charmer who captured her heart soon after. Jentry has irrevocably touched her soul, and he is intertwined in her present and future in ways she never fathomed. Now Aurora is faced with keeping that night hidden though it feels as if the ink has indelibly etched their story across her skin.

When Declan is confronted with his own personal demons, Aurora must decide if she will continue to hold tight to their relationship and a safe, reliable future with him, or if she will turn to Jentry—the guy she can’t forget no matter how hard she tries.…

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.

Aurora shared one special night with the love of her life, to have him disappear.
Jentry left the love of his life to protect her from the darkness within.
Declan met the love of his life the night a high heel hit him in the forehead.

A messy love story that has heart ache written all over it. Aurora becomes Jentry's after just one night together. Losing him led her to Declan. Unbeknownst to her, the two knew each other. The fight between who she wants and who she should be with is a tough battle that no one is prepared to fight.
I swear. Every time I get a new Molly McAdams book there's always excitement, joy and a little bit of fear that goes through me. Fear only comes before I've cracked the book open. Will I like this one? She only writes books I love - there must come a time when I won't love one? I'm always nervous - always waiting for that one that doesn't grip me. But without fail page one is read and I must dive into the story. With McAdams' books I always know that I will finish it in one day. Any spare time I get is spent reading her book whenever I get my hands on them.

Aurora. Jentry. Declan. Three characters whom I've grown to love so very much. And once you realize that things are going to get messy with them you feel McAdams writing chipping away at a part of your soul. The part which you have given to these characters. These characters who slowly are fighting a losing battle - or a battle they can win but how they handle it isn't the path of least resistance. Such as Jentry says at one point in the book. You gotta just take it one thing at a time. Once one hurdle comes you hold your breath, will Aurora to do what is right and see how things play out. To only realize that what you willed for her may have only brought more pain upon her.

I realize that I'm talking a lot about pain -- there is a lot of it just not in a horrible way. There's the pain of lose, suffering, confusion, true love fighting for a place in your heart. But underneath it all you will only feel love. Love for Aurora, Jentry, and Declan (which because you love them all only brings some more pain) and love for McAdams who brought to life such a beautiful story.

I don't want to give anything away about who is chosen - although it's probably a little bit obvious. But I think this is what breaks my heart the most. You love both Jentry and Declan so much. When Aurora is with Jentry you want her with him. When she is with Declan you want her with Declan. But when Aurora has made a choice the characters handle it in a way which only makes you respect and love them even more.

If you've read a McAdams' book before - you're in for a real treat. This is McAdam's at her finest. If you haven't read a McAdams' book than this is a great one to start on!


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique