Blog Tour: The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana + Giveaway



Welcome to our tour stop for The Library of Fates by Aditi Khoranatour! This tour includes a giveaway courtesy of PenguinTeen.

The Library of Fates
Author: Aditi Khorana
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Fantasy
Released: July 18th 2017
Publisher: Razorbill
 
A romantic coming-of-age fantasy tale steeped in Indian folklore, perfect for fans of The Star-Touched Queen and The Wrath and the Dawn

No one is entirely certain what brings the Emperor Sikander to Shalingar. Until now, the idyllic kingdom has been immune to his many violent conquests. To keep the visit friendly, Princess Amrita has offered herself as his bride, sacrificing everything—family, her childhood love, and her freedom—to save her people. But her offer isn't enough.

The unthinkable happens, and Amrita finds herself a fugitive, utterly alone but for an oracle named Thala, who was kept by Sikander as a slave and managed to escape amid the chaos of a palace under siege. With nothing and no one else to turn to, Amrita and Thala are forced to rely on each other. But while Amrita feels responsible for her kingdom and sets out to warn her people, the newly free Thala has no such ties. She encourages Amrita to go on a quest to find the fabled Library of All Things, where it is possible for each of them to reverse their fates. To go back to before Sikander took everything from them.

Stripped of all that she loves, caught between her rosy past and an unknown future, will Amrita be able to restore what was lost, or does another life—and another love—await?


The Library of Fates begins with the introduction of Princess Amrita of Shalingar. She is preparing the visitation of Emperor Sikander, as she is arranged to marry him. Although her future is planned, Amrita is not ready. See, she is in love with her best friend and is ready to face the consequences. Little does she know during the Emperor visitation, things are about to go south. And soon, she will be on the run.

If you read The Library of Fates, Amrita will remind you of Arya Stark. The part when she sees her father be executed and torn apart she must run for her life. But unlike, Arya, Amrita is very clueless of the outside her world. Hence, she was a Princess and was accustom others doing the job for her. And unlike Arya, she was lucky to have someone during her fugitive journey. Yet her character is very likable because she is very selfless. She thinks of her people and truly cares for them. She wants the best for them. Even if she was stripped from everything she knew of.

With the help of Thala, an oracle, Amrita is able to discover secrets from the past relating to her family and kingdom. But what is more admiring of this journey, is the bond she creates with Thala. They complete each other with their personality. They're friendship goals, one can learn from them. They trusted each other thru many trials.

Overall, I liked The Library of Fates. The story started very slow and it moved slowly... Yet, the plot twist at the end was very surprising and really satisfying. With this said, I think fantasy lovers should give this a try.


Aditi Khorana spent parts of her childhood in India, Denmark, and New England. She has a BA in international relations from Brown University and an MA in global media and communications from the Annenberg School for Communication. She has worked as a journalist at ABC News, CNN, and PBS, and most recently as a marketing executive consulting for various Hollywood studios including Fox, Paramount, and Sony. She is also the author of Mirror in the Sky. She lives in Los Angeles and spends her free time reading, hiking, and exploring LA's eclectic and wonderful architecture. For more information, visit aditikhorana.com.


Enter for a chance to win one (1) of five (5) copies of The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana (ARV: $18.99 each).

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on July 10th, 2017 and 12:00 AM on July 31, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about August 5, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.


July 17 – Bibliophile Gathering – Review
July 18 – Boricuan Bookworms – Author Guest Post
July 19 – Once Upon a Twilight – Review
July 20 – The Reading Nook Reviews – Review & Library of Fates Pendants
July 21 – A Page With A View – Author Q&A

July 24 – Fiction Fare – Author Guest Post
July 25 – Alexa Loves Books – Bookish Style File
July 26 – Chasing Faerytales – Review
July 27 – IceyBooks – Library of Fates Quote Candy
July 28 – Across the Words – Review & Fan Cast

2 comments:

  1. I do enjoy fantasy and learning about other cultures, so this book does sound fun. I'm a bit worried about the slow pace you mentioned though.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Just seeing this main character being compared to Arya, even in the slightest, has me intrigued. Well, more intrigued than previously. I love the cover of this one and have been expecting great things! A slow book doesn't deter me too badly, so hopefully I'll enjoy this one a bit more than you did!

    Cass @ Words on Paper

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique