Have You Heard of Lauren DeStefano's The Glass Spare?



The first in a new fantasy duology, The Glass Spare (HarperCollins Publishers / 9780062491282 / 10/24/2017/ $17.99 /Ages 13 and up) is a gorgeously told tale of love, loss, and deadly power from Lauren DeStefano, the bestselling author of the Chemical Garden series. Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Renee Ahdieh.

Wilhelmina Heidle, the fourth child and only daughter of the king of the world’s wealthiest nation, has grown up in the shadows. Kept hidden from the world in order to serve as a spy for her father—whose obsession with building his empire is causing a war—Wil wants nothing more than to explore the world beyond her kingdom, if only her father would give her the chance. Until one night Wil is attacked, and she discovers a dangerous secret. Her touch turns people into gemstone. At first Wil is horrified—but as she tests its limits, she’s drawn more and more to the strange and volatile ability. When it leads to tragedy, though, Wil is forced to face the destructive power within her and finally leave her home to seek the truth and a cure. But finding the key to her redemption puts her in the path of a cursed prince who has his own ideas for what to do with Wil’s power. With a world on the brink of war and a power of ultimate destruction, can Wil find a way to help the kingdom that’s turned its back on her, or will she betray her past and her family forever?

Lauren DeStefano earned her BA in English with a Concentration in Creative Writing from Albertus Magnus College in Connecticut in 2007. She is also the New York Times bestselling author of WitherFeverSeverThe Internment Chronicles, and A Curious Tale of the In-Between. You can find her online at http://www.laurendestefano.com/.

This is the setup for a longer series, and it leaves off with tantalizing hints of what’s to come. Readers will be eager to reenter this world of scheming kings and banished heirs, where nothing is quite as it seems.
— The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique