My #NIGHTFALL Reading Experience by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski + Giveaway

Author: Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre:  Dystopia 
Released: September 22nd 2015
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
A story where edge-of-your-seat horror meets post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of Lois Lowry and The Mazerunner

On Marin’s island, sunrise doesn’t come every twenty-four hours—it comes every twenty-eight years. Now the sun is just a sliver of light on the horizon. The weather is turning cold and the shadows are growing long.

Because sunset triggers the tide to roll out hundreds of miles, the islanders are frantically preparing to sail south, where they will wait out the long Night.

Marin and her twin brother, Kana, help their anxious parents ready the house for departure. Locks must be taken off doors. Furniture must be arranged. Tables must be set. The rituals are puzzling—bizarre, even—but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way.

Just as the ships are about to sail, a teenage boy goes missing—the twins’ friend Line. Marin and Kana are the only ones who know the truth about where Line’s gone, and the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves. But Night is falling. Their island is changing.

And it may already be too late.

Nightfall was nothing like I was expecting. I was expecting and ready to be scared. I imagined creepy people and/or animals crawling out of the book.

But no, Nightfall turned out to be a thrilling adventure. And I was totally fine with the outcome, especially with my anticipation of The Maze Runner: Scorch Trials. Which Nightfall totally reminded me of. I mean, who doesn’t love dangerous adventures?

The world of Nightfall is one interesting world. For 14 years there is Day, then for 14 years there is only Nights. With no sun. Can you imagine that? Earth with no sun? For a week, our temperature would drop below 0°F, most of our plants would die just within days, we would barely have any animals left and worst of all, we would freeze to death. Do you get the picture? Our world would totally suck.

So reading about the world of Nightfall was captivating, mysterious and unique. The authors did an amazing job describing this world. 

On the island that Marin, her family and best friend live on, Night is about to set for 14 years. Soon, Marin will learn that she and everyone on that island must evacuate. There is no reason given to her or any of the youngsters. All she know is that they must evacuate. Why? That is a mystery that she will discover while running to stay alive.  

On the day of evacuation, Marin is left behind due to an accident. She and her brother, Kana, and best friend, Line are the only ones left on the island. When seeking for a place to rest, they find a white paper hanging on a front door with a single world scrawled. That word is HIDE. Hide from what? Hide where? Within minutes the three will soon be creep out and run for their live and HIDE... You will have to read to know from what.

As I mentioned, this book reminded me of The Maze Runner. It had the "run for your live" type of feel. It was as mysterious as this series but it was unique on its own. And it does have it's creepy moments. However, I would say lovers of the Dystopia genre would enjoy this read the most. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique