Book Review: Traveler By Arwen Elys Dayton

Seeker #2
Author: Arwen Elys Dayton
Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Fantasy
Released: January 12 2016
Review Source: Delacorte Press

For readers of A Game of Thrones and Legend, Traveler, the sequel to Seeker.

Quin Kincaid is a Seeker. Her legacy is an honor, an ancient role passed down for generations. But what she learned on her Oath night changed her world forever.

Quin pledged her life to deception. Her legacy as a Seeker is not noble but savage. Her father, a killer. Her uncle, a liar. Her mother, a casualty. And the boy she once loved is out for vengeance, with her family in his sights.

Yet Quin is not alone. Shinobu, her oldest companion, might now be the only person she can trust. The only one who wants answers as desperately as she does.

But the deeper they dig into the past, the darker things become. There are long-vanished Seeker families, shadowy alliances, and something else: a sinister plan begun generations ago, with the power to destroy them all.

The past is close. And it will destroy them all.

Traveler follows our hero Quin as she searches for the truth about what happened to previous Seeker families. Shinobu is right by her side, but with his addict behavior it makes things more difficult for him to focus. John and the Young Dread have continued John's Seeker training - Maud hoping to show him what a Seeker is really meant to do. The Middle Dread's following of Watchers has come back with a vengeance hoping to please their Master.

I don't even know where to begin! My love for this series has only grown since I read Seeker  and I honestly cannot wait to see what happens in Dayton's next book. As I was finishing this book I knew that the end was near, I just didn't want to believe that it was around the corner. I saw how it was ending - but I didn't want to believe that, that could happen! The cliff hanger is one of the most difficult things to hang on to. When reading a book you want that happy ending - when you know it's part of a series you kind of wish for the Harry Potter series endings, with the happy for the end of the school year but knowing that danger is looming about. Seriously...just being hung kind of sucks. But good thinking Dayton - it will definitely get your readers to stay on the edge of their seats until the next time.

Can I just tell you my favorite part about this book - which also might be the most heartbreaking part about this book? The romance between Catherine and Archie. You know Catherine as John's crazy mother who wanted revenge on the Seeker houses for the harm they caused her family. What you don't know about her is how she came to be that way. And first I was like great, I don't want to hear her story - she's CRAZY. But then I started to form a relationship with her. She seemed to be one of the good guys...and then comes Archie. And once he's in the picture there is no turning around. Kudos to Dayton for getting me to hate Catherine in Seeker and turn around and make me love her in Traveler. I have only ever done that with one other book character ever - and that would be Professor Snape.

John's story. There's so much I want to say. But so much I don't want to spoil. So let me just say that his character arc has become so interesting to read and I cannot wait to see where it goes.

Arwen Elys Dayton keeps you captivated. She trained us all to be Seekers and now she's helping us travel through this amazing world that she's created for us.
I'm heartbroken in realizing that there's only one more book left in this amazing series, but honestly I can't wait to have it in my hands to be once again thrown into this world that I love.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Once Upon a Twilight
All rights reserved © 2010-2015

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique